Writing Can Be Murder

March 8, 2007

Supernatural

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferelbaum @ 4:39 pm

The other day Allison Brennan blogged about writing a paranormal and watching the show Supernatural (http://www.allisonbrennan.com/blog/index.php).

 Specifically she was talking about what it takes for a reader/viewer to suspend disbelief.

 I happen to be a fan of Supernatural, not because of the paranormal elements (though we did tune into the show at first because  DH loves anything and everything paranormal) but because of the dynamic between the two brothers which feels SO real.

A recent episode featured alpha male, tough guy, older brother Dean finding out that his younger (more sensitive and educated) brother Sam may have murdered someone. How the murder occurred has that supernatural element to it, but the moment that “made” the show for me happened when Dean said something like this (my apologies to the writer, I only saw the episode once):

 “You checked into the hotel room under the name of Richard Sambora.” He adds with obvious disgust, “Who knew you were a closet Bon Jovi fan?”

I believe that the secret of Supernatural’s success is due to the grounding of the brother’s bickering relationship and their constant pop culture references (I’m telling you that the Gilmore Girls have nothing on these guys.)

I think every work of fiction needs that kind of grounding in order for us to suspend our disbelief. What are your thoughts?

1 Comment »

  1. I absolutely agree! I don’t watch Supernatural, but I can relate to needing that grounding feeling. I want characters who sound like real people and who react more like real people would even in a bizarre situation. [Sans all the screaming and panicking of course.]

    I guess that’s why I’m a fan of Karen Marie Moning. She’s not afraid to put pop culture references in her stories and give her characters realistic dialogue.

    Comment by Jennifer Colgan — March 9, 2007 @ 8:56 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

