Writing Can Be Murder

March 9, 2007

Golf and Guns

Filed under: Uncategorized — jenniferelbaum @ 9:18 am

Yesterday I went to the bookstore to do a little research (and hey, major kudos to me because I walked out without buying anything which meant I could focus on writing).

I grabbed the books I needed (both of which were disappointing which made the not buying anything thing so much easier) and thumbed through. I was seated across from a magazine rack and since I’d learned little from the books, I studied the magazines. Specifically I was seated across from a section catering to men.

Please note that in this particular bookstore this is different than the “Men’s Interest”  section (it’s on another freakin’ rack) which is basically the naked ladies section.

No, I was sitting across from the sports section. I say it’s a men’s section because the magazines that cater to women in sports are in the “Women’s Interest” section which, at least in this particular bookstore, does not feature any naked men.

Anyway, my point is I was studying something I normally don’t even glance at. There were magazines on baseball, snowboarding, skateboarding and body building (closest thing to pictures of naked men!). There were 12 magazines for golfers (not counting the women’s golf magazines in the women’s interest section). I get it, hitting the tiny little ball into the tiny little hole is an obsession for many.

 What blew my mind was that there were TWENTY different magazines about guns. Twenty! That was something I would have never expected.

Next week I’m going to see what sort of unexpected things I can find in the Women’s Interest section!

On a side note that has nothing to do with this post other than it too blew my mind: Anna Genoese is leaving Tor!

http://alg.livejournal.com/120341.html?vie…e=mine#t3228181

1 Comment »

  1. I never understood the fascination with guns, but if you think about them as an extension of the male…well..anyway, that tends to explain a lot.

    Comment by Jennifer Colgan — March 12, 2007 @ 3:48 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

